Andover Country Club, the dream of William M. Wood, the colorful head of the American Woolen Company, was built on the site of Chandler Farm and opened to great fanfare in October 1925. The 18 hole USGA championship course was originally conceived and adapted to the natural contour of the land by course architect, W.H. Follet and completed upon his death by legendary course designer Donald Ross. The architecturally significant clubhouse, built in the Spanish style with stucco exterior and striking red tiled roof, opened its doors the following April, 1926 and maintains its distinctive style today.
Through the years the club has been impeccably maintained and improved, most significantly through the ownership of Yvon Cormier who purchased the club in 1979 from the Donahue and Davidson families and set out to expand and redefine what today’s country club should be. Under Mr. Cormier’s stewardship the clubhouse was completely renovated and enlarged adding hotel rooms, elegant dining facilities and ballrooms for events of all kinds and sizes from weddings, charity events and business functions to tournaments and golf outings.
The Cormier family also saw the need to improve club amenities such as garden space, terrace patio, updated kitchen and locker room renovations. Mr. Cormier has also implemented changes to this challenging course enhancing and updating the course and added a practice range and short range area for members of all ages and skill levels.
Going forward, along with maintaining the integrity of its rich history, the Cormier’s continue their proud building tradition with the elegant Homes At Andover Country Club and the townhomes at The Legends, Swan Crossing and Frenchman's Reserve.